Old Prerequisites - ok or need to retake?

Hi everyone! I graduated from college in 2006 and, between 2002 and 2006, completed most of my premed requirements (many semester of of bio, including 2 with lab; inorganic chemistry with lab; calculus I and II). I earned solid scores in all of them from a high ranked school. I am now completing organic chemistry I and II (with lab), physics I and II and biochem at a different high ranked school.

I’m operating under the assumption that my bio courses, inorganic chem, and calculus from 2002-2006 are still valid and that schools won’t require that I retake them. Is this a safe assumption? I anticipate applying to med schools in about 2 years.

Thanks for your help!!

Some schools dictate time frames that you will have had to have taken your courses in. Mine were about the same age as yours when I applied and were not an issue at any of the schools I applied to. I repeated some classes to prep for the MCAT and for o-chem (repeated gen chem 1&2) but chose not to repeat other courses that I was very comfortable with (physics 1&2) and just reviewed the material for the MCAT.

Hope this helps!

+1, my oldest class was gen chem and was 11 years old when I was applying but I had taken ochem just a year ago. All others were 4-9 years old and not one school said anything. But I have a graduate degree in an allied health field so this may have made up for some of the dated under grad clases.

THis is off topic but I cant figure out how to edit posts. I was trying to edit the above but Ill just have to add on. Correction: rest of my classes were 7-9 years old. I think the one school that I found that was fairly strict about age of classes was Duke. I called the ones that were really important to me to double check. The responses were fairly vague “we prefer, but…etc etc” and when it came down to it, no one talked about it at interviews and I had a great deal of success this season. Who knows. Good Luck

• en0920 Said: