Older, GPA,, chances, or just dreaming???

I’m new to OPM (today)and this seems to be a great site. The questions I have I’m sure have been asked and answered countless times but nevertheless, here goes.
I have always wanted to be an MD, from as far back as childhood. I always felt I’d make a great doctor. Problem was when I had the chance, I just didn’t actively pursue it. Oh I took some of the classes my med school bound classmates did but I just ‘went to school’, didn’t apply myself, basically looked forward to getting out, being married, etc. At the time, I never felt I could genuinely have a chance at going to Med school and fullfilling the dream. Consequently, I didn’t work at it. The predictable result was an average GPA ~2.5-6. I never took the MCAT. I never visited with the premed counselor at school. I did graduate with a Bachelors in Chemistry. I now am the R&D Mgr at a polymer company in the midwest. I make a very, very comfortable living but… it’s NOT medicine. I have a very supportive wife and daughter.
Though,it’s been many years, the dream has NEVER died!
Needless to say, looking back at it I wonder why I didn’t apply myself when I was in my 20’s. Recently looking over the subject matter in Premed classes makes me regret that I didn’t. The material just didn’t seem that difficult… if you worked.
I’ve recently seen people long after famlies have been started and careers begun, applying and being accepted into Med school,( albeit rarely),into their 40’s-50s!. This has re-fanned the flames! I guess I was very slow to come around /back to what was careerwise my first love.