Older 'premed' needs advice badly

Hello All:
Out of many discussion boards I have visited, this one seems the best suited to me. I've been thinking of applying to med school, and need some advice, because everyone is telling me its a bad move and I'll lose too much money, time, etc., and that I'm too old to be going back to school.
Here's some background info: I'm 29, married, and working as an attorney in Chicago at a big firm. I just graduated from law school (Notre Dame) in 2002 (GPA 3.47/4.0) and am absolutely miserable working in the legal profession. I graduated from the U. of Illinois (champaign) in 1996 with a B.S. in Biochem (ugpa 2.85/4.0, sci gpa 2.7/4.0). Took the MCAT in '95 and got a 29. I originally wanted to go to med school, but my grades were pretty bad and I knew there was no chance of me getting into a U.S. school with those numbers (regarding the bad grades, I was immature and didn't study when in college). I took one semester of grad courses as a student at large in the sciences and did well, 3.4/4.0 (biochem, o. chem, genetics), while working (and I worked for 3 years as a lab tech before I went to law school). I went to law school in sheer desperation - I was broke, medicine seemed unattainable, and I was being pressured into finding a 'prestigious' career by family. So, now I'm working as a patent lawyer making more money than I would've ever thought possible, but my life seems extremely empty and unfullfilling. I've also got about a 100K student debt thanks to law school. My wife is a 2nd year OB/GYN resident, and keeps telling me medicine is not as great as I think it is and that I should just plug away at my job to pay off loans and save money for retirement. However, I disagree. I've been thinking of applying to a number of MS programs, the type that prepare you for med school, or alternatively, to caribbean med schools.