On internship and career satisfaction

Hello all. I’ve really been contemplating the intern experience lately and unfortunately wound up on the site medschoolhell.com. I say unfortunately because it really got me depressed and down for a few days, and questioning my desire to go into medicine. Many comments lament on the crap (both literal and figurative) that interns have to deal with. They also described how unsatisfied they were with their own decision to go into medicine, and even more discouraging, how many/most physicians they shadowed had warned them against it. This gave the impression that a majority of those practicing physicians really regretted their career choice as well.

Now, I have plenty of work experience and know full well how dumped on the low man on the totem pole can be. I’ve also been through a clinical experience and have seen that medicine is no different than many if not most other work environments, despite the nature of the work, so that was not unexpected and I chalked those comments up to naivety. But then, to hear that so many seasoned physicians would be so dissatisfied with their profession once past the “initiation” period was a real blow to my enthusiasm. I understand that I’m getting this second hand on a site that is primarily purposed for disgruntled venting, and that exaggeration could very well abound, but the question still stands in my mind: do a large portion of physicians regret their career path?

I’d like to hear from anyone who works with or is a more or less seasoned doctor about what they feel the broad consensus in the profession is on that topic. Few people are going to be happy with 100% of what they do for a living, but is it all that bad? Once again, I wonder if a majority of those suffering from that sentiment are those who rushed into the profession with the wrong impression/motivation and little “real-world” work experience and were just unprepared to deal with the reality.