one year post bacc v. 2 year post bacc

Hi there,
Just a quick general question. I am curious as to what members on this forum think of one year post baccs as opposed to two year post baccs. Is the quality and preperation for these programs comparable in preparing you for the MCAT? thank you.
Jdstudent

Regarding the mechanics of one-year post-bacc, 2 semesters of general chemistry are prerequisites for 2 semesters of organic chemistry. The only way to finish premed in a year, then, is to take 2 semesters of organic chemistry in the summer-- not a good idea. At the slower, fall-spring pace, I study about 3-4 hours of organic chemistry EVERY NIGHT. I had no problem doing the summer school chapter-a-day pace when I took physics this summer. The idea of doing a chapter of o-chem each day is totally inconceivable to me, and I’m a really ambitious student.

If, on the other hand, the post-bacc is specially designed so that all four semesters of chemistry are specially scheduled to fit in one year (rather than doing all the compressing at the end in O-chem, which I agree would be painful), then it might be fine.
I think I would need to know more about two specific programs being compared to have an opinion. If the two-year post-bacc includes more classes, more credits, more advanced sciences, and is designed to help you do better in med school as well as getting in, that would be different from one in which the standard core courses are simply more spread out, allowing you more time for volunteer work or gainful employment, like my informal personal do-it-yourself post-bacc.
I would say a more-credits kind of program would be good for someone with poorer grades to overcome–“See, I’m really better now and I’M NOT KIDDING! Look at the pretty biochem grades!” Or, it would have more advanced sciences and prepare you a little better for med school.