Optometry student to Medical School Advice

Hello. I am excited to talk about my story and discuss my plan to apply to Medical School after the completion of my Optometry School.

Here is my backstory. I am a current 3rd year student at a well-known optometry school. I have genuinely enjoyed my time in optometry school and would not trade my years of schooling for anything. I have learned so much about the visual system and it all remains fascinating to me every day. I absolutely adore working with patients and being a resource that they can place complete trust in for their care. It is truly the reason I went into a field in healthcare to begin with.

So why am I discussing medical school? I have found that what drew me to optometry school (Vision Therapy and Neuro-Optometry) has really taken a backseat as far as my interest go and management of pathology involved with the ocular system has really become what I am passionate about. As an optometrist, medical management of ocular disease is available, but the surgical management is done solely by ophthalmology (rightfully so). I could certainly work alongside ophthalmology in certain modalities of practice, but I worry that not being able to manage cases because they are beyond my training or scope of practice will cause me to feel unfulfilled in my career. I have also found I am fascinated by the Retina and the systemic diseases that manifest as retinal disease (Diabetes, Hypertension, inflammatory conditions, etc). This is by far my favorite aspect of eye care and one that is virtually untouchable by optometry.