Overly ambitious? Postbacc at UT-Dallas plans...

Hello all,

As a brief introduction, I am a early/mid 20s history graduate who is a recent transplant to Texas. I married a PhD student at Texas A&M University and have been cooling my heels in College Station ever since. That brief time in the “real world” has been very useful for me, and it’s been a huge factor in my decision to try completing the premed prereqs and go to medical school. I realize by the standards of this forum I am still a toddler, but if it is any consolation I think that just developing a good non-traditional plan is pretty tough no matter what… thus, I seek your advice.

Unfortunately, due to Texas A&M’s silliness, it is likely going to be very difficult for me to finish a postbacc there; postbaccs register last and popular premed classes fill up quickly, so I am considering a program at UT-Dallas or an informal postbacc at U of Houston. However, I took some postbaccs a while ago and I am unsure what the “best” route would be.

My current situation

I’ve already taken the following:

GenBio I/II (summer community college, A x2)

GenChem I (4y uni, B)

Human A&P (4y uni, B+ and B)

Current overall GPA: 3.79

Current science GPA: 3.40-3.46, depending on if that second Bio grade is an A or A-

I can pursue one of two options: I can finish the pre-reqs in 18 months, or I can drag it out a second year and possibly strengthen my app. I am presently leaning towards the latter.

My present plan looks like this:

Spring 2010: Stats and Chem at a local CC while working FT

Summer 2010: Chem II at Texas A&M, 4- or 10-week option, FT student

Fall 2010/Spring 2011: Orgo and Physics plus some third class. MAYBE GenBio. FT student.

Summer 2011: Take MCAT.

Fall 2011: Resume working FT OR take some advanced biology classes. All TX schools require 2 upper-level bio courses in order to apply.

I have a few questions for the seasoned vets among you: