PA applying to med..how far do i have to go back?

Hello all…
I have been a practicing Physician Assistant in Emergency Medicine for the past nine years and have finally got up the courage for i should have had many years ago, to apply to medical school…there were lots of reasons then, but there are even better ones now (which i will not go into)…
problem…it seems from my research that i will have to back-track and re-take all my basic science as PA school was 11years ago and undergrad basics were almost 16 years ago…
does anyone have knowlegde of how admissions look at folks like me? I have been practicing medicine (as a PA) with tremendous autonomy given by my MD collegues…it seems crazy i would have to start from scratch…basic science and MCATs, but if i have to…then i will have to to achieve what we all here are looking for…at 36years old tho, i was hoping to acheive my goal before all my hair was gray…
ps are admissions req’s to off-shore schools different?
thanks in advance
SB

Congrats on the decision!
Different schools have different requirements. Some require fresh pre-reqs, it seems to me that most don’t. You can check the individuals schools requirements on their websites, under “admissions” usually.
I think that if I were in your situation, I’d speciifically look for schools that didn’t require me to repeat courses I took years ago, but thats just me. I would also think that a PA would be very favorably considered by most med schools, since the PA training is so similar to the basic science years of med school.
The off-shore schools I’ve looked at (the big 4 in the Caribbean, especially) don’t have a time requirement on your coursework or MCATs.
MCAT’s for US schools are somewhat more varied. Lots of schools have requirements that the MCAT score be relatively fresh (3 years or less, 5 years or less, depending).