Pastor to Physician?

I have been a pastor for nearly 11 years. I am considering going back to school (eventually) with hopes of becoming a doctor. I love the opportunities I have had to help people through my pastoral ministry, but would love to be able to do more for people. I have always had an interest in medicine, but didn’t pursue it as an option until now.

I have a B.A. in Pastoral Ministry. I am anticipating going back to school to get a B.S. degree because I don’t think a post-bacc course would work for me. I didn’t have much science, and no math in college.

Is this a realistic goal? I am 33 years old by the way.

Thanks!

I certainly think it is realistic.

Many schools would look favorably upon your humanitarianism. As long as you are able to master the sciences you should get in.

Age is not a concern, as many people have started older than you. Take your time, make sure you like the science behind the medicine, and get good grades.

Pastor,

Actrually I think a post-bacc would work extremely well for you; most are designed for students with little background in science. There is no need to have another degree in hard science in order to achieve medical school. Also, the math requirement is slipping at most medical schools, though to do well in basic science a strong foundation in Algebra and perhaps Trig (pre-calc) would be very useful. The science on the MCAT is basic. If you feel that you would like more education in science, you would be better supplement your Post-Bacc with a few upper-level Biology courses. You, in fact, do not need a formal post-bacc. I am simply taking course at a state university as a non-matriculating student.

And BTW, at 33 you are a relative child in this group. I am 47 and trying (yes, I said Forty-seven, that ain’t a typo).