Path to Medical School

I was directed to the Old Pre Med website by Judith Colwell. I have found this website quite comforting in the fact that I am not alone as an older pre med.

A bit about me. I graduated from Texas State University with a BFA in Photography. After graduating I went into the Medical Photography field. This is where I found that I wanted to go back to school to become a physician.

My only concerns right now are my GPA, 2.9 and that I can only afford to go to a community college for my pre reqs. I’ve done really well in my pre reqs so far with A’s and B’s.

The community college does not have pre med advisors. Does anyone know where I may find one and do I really need an advisor through the process?

Thanks and good luck to all.

Hi Lindsay, welcome to OPM!

As for pre-med advisors, you don’t have to have one. Sometimes if they are available, they can be helpful, and sometimes not.

If you can only afford a community college, that is all you can afford. Just make sure that you stay on this course of getting no lower than a B in these classes. If you didn’t take any sciences in your undergraduate, you’ll have a good science GPA. Also, do well, it will show a good trend.

You probably will have some trouble with the 2.9. Have you checked into the medical schools that your are interested in? I know that Texas seems to have a lot of state medical schools that definitely prefer to accept their own residents. Definitely check with them to see what their minimum requirements are. You’ll also want to make sure that you do really well with your MCAT, so don’t rush to take it…waiting instead until after finishing your prereqs, or at the very end of this course.

There is also a Osteopathic Medical School (TCOM) in Forth Worth. I don’t know if you are aware, but osteopathic schools allow you to retake and replace grades. While all grades will be seen, it will help raise your GPA if you want to go this option.

Welcome to the site…you’ll love it!