Pathology Assistant to Med School

Dr. Grey,
My name is Neal Hall. I’ll apologize upfront for the long post that will follow but thought putting my story out there might help some of the other students on this site as well as hopefully get a few questions answered for myself. To start with I’m a 27 year old non traditional pre med student. I’m married and have three young children ages 3.5, 2, and 2 weeks. I got a bachelors in biology and chemistry from a traditional four year university and had planned on applying to medical school but never followed through when my final undergrad gpa ended as a 2.99. My poor GPA was due to my first two years of undergrad and I had a strong positive trend in my last two years. I had taken the old MCAT in 2014 and got a 25 with a 49th percentile ranking and decided that med school was simply out of my reach and I realized that with my first child on the way I had to start making more money to provide for my family. Up to that point I had spent two years working as an ER tech as well as an ER scribe and had also done some significant shadowing in many specialties. I also had great research in microbiology which was submitted but ultimately rejected from publication. Basically I had everything but the GPA and high MCAT. I spent some time working in a pathology lab before I was trained and hired as a surgical and anatomical pathology assistant full time. My current job is a wonderful career path that many choose to stick with, the pay is good for the amount of training that is required and I get to work with complex cancer cases and make a significant impact in the medical field and on patients, albeit indirectly. I get to be first assist on autopsies and see things that many people, physicians included, never get to see. However, I realized somewhere along the way that I missed working with patients and getting to have that direct impact on them daily. I also wanted to have the ability to utilize the knowledge that I have and will ha