Perhaps you weren't meant to be a doctor.

So another semester is coming to a close, and despite my best efforts, I have not been able to raise my GPA. Instead it keeps going downhill. No matter how much studying I’ve done, I can’t seem to get those A’s. I always aim for an A, but usually get a B or sometimes C. I know that premeds are “a dime a dozen” (as another poster put in in another thread). I’ve changed my study habits, started studying at night and sleeping afterwards, and this has helped my grades somewhat. But it has not been enough. Again, I just couldn’t recall all that I had studied, and I studied a lot. Did self-testing, quizzed other students.

I am not normally one who believes in pre-ordained fate, but lately I’ve beginning to wonder if there is such a thing. The academic obstacles and stumbling blocks that I’ve encountered just never end: labs experiments gone wrong, failed tests, bombed quizzes, mixed-up deadlines, etc. It appears that I can do little right in my courses. For example, I’ve been getting C’s in the parasitology/mycology lab and B’s on the lecture tests for the same class. In order for me to get an A in the course, I would need to get a high A on the last two labs tests and last two lecture exams. But alas, that wasn’t meant to be. I got a C on the lecture exam and a C on the lab exam. It looks like this entire semester will be B’s.

One of my best friends is a 3.99 premed. She consistently gets A’s on all her tests; studying with her has helped me a bit, but she clearly has a significantly better memory than I do when it comes to recall during tests. I wish there was some way to acquire her recall ability; it’s very natural for her.

Recently we were discussing my premed quest and she brought up the quote, “Perhaps you weren’t meant to go to medical school, perhaps you weren’t meant to be a doctor.” I am beginning to think that she is right.