Personal Statement Advice - Being Pressured to Include Past Career

Hi,
I’ve written a few drafts of my PS, and I really like how it’s coming along. I think I could be only a couple of drafts away from being done. However, a doctor that’s sort of started to mentor me this year has been really pushing me to say more, say more, say more about the career I did after leaving pre-med. I got a masters in speech-language pathology and then got a job in a less than ideal environment, went into a very bad place in my life, and did not finish out the year. I did not feel passionate enough to find a more suitable position and finish qualifying for my full licensure; I even told the company I had worked with not to submit the work we had done which would have taken me a large part of the way toward licensure. I fully left the field and became a test-prep instructor for the next few years. At this point, I’ve healed enough from the bad experience I had as an SLP to be able to talk about that period verbally, but I guess I now look at that part or my life like a decent boyfriend who I had a bad breakup with. I appreciate and continue to use various things I got from it, but I don’t hold it as special, and I don’t believe it’s the most effective or wise use of my space to try and make someone else think it’s special when I don’t.

Through the few drafts I’ve done trying to follow this doctor’s advice to include more SLP, I haven’t really gotten traction between it and trying to explain why I want to be a doctor, but I’ve moreso gone to a negative place of “this is what was wrong with that” and edging on the idea that it was a mistake (which I don’t think it was, but I have admittedly had that feeling at times).