Personal Statements

HI there,

I know this has been talked about in the past but I am so unsavvy at getting myself around in here, I decided to write about it again.

I am a really good writer, but I have been struggling with how to approach my statement. Its so short and there are so many avenues I could take, and I am just not quite sure what to focus on to talk about. I know the main things about not writing “why I want to be a doctor…” but should it be biographical, talk about all the great things I have done in 40++ years, or what? I need some focus on this area…its all I have left before I can submit my application on ACOMAS.

Oh and should I talk about my bad MCAT score? And also would anyone be willing to read what I have got so far?

Thanks,

Carey

The personal statement is chance for you to highlight something that is not already on your application. The MCAT score is already on the application so there is no need to put in your PS.

Think of a story that made you decide to go into medicine, it flows from there.

Also, have other people who are not premeds read it to see if it conveys the message of what you want it to say. Just don’t tell the reader that the question is why do you want to become a dr.

Hi there,

You cannot afford to label yourself as “bad” at doing anything. If you were less than satisfied with your writing efforts in the past, you can take steps to improve what you do. Not only are you writing a personal statement for medical school admission, you are going to be writing a personal statment for residency should you get to that point. Again, you can learn to master these types of essays like anything else.

Some people keep a journal of thoughts as they come. Later on, they can flesh out some of these and put them together into a good personal statement.