PharmD --> MD pathway ?

First off - I am so glad to have found this site. I’ve been reading your posts for a few weeks now, and all of you are quite inspirational.

About me -

I’m a 27 yo clinical pharmacist. I finished my PharmD in 2005, and I did two years of residency prior to starting my current position. When I enrolled in pharmacy school, I planned to go to med school afterwards, but, about halfway through, one of my professors convinced me to try the clinical pharmacy route. In doing so, I have been able to participate in collaborative practice, I’ve been adjunct faculty at three different schools of pharmacy, and been fortunate enough to practice in very progressive models. However, it’s still not enough for me, and I know in my heart that I will never be happy unless I become a physician.

I’m looking for advice on the appropriate pathway for me to complete my med school requirements as well as when it would be appropriate to sit for the MCATs. All of my pre-reqs were completed between Fall 1999 - Spring 2001, and the only class I’m missing is Physics II. I met with an undergrad advisor at the university that I am now employed at, and she referred me to the Dean of Admissions at the med school here. I meet with the Dean this week.

The undergrad advisor did NOT think that I should retake my pre-reqs. I see mixed opinions of this online, so I’m hoping the Dean can clear this up. I have started reviewing Gen Bio/Chem textbooks, and, once I feel more secure with that material again, I’ll start to review orgo. I am hoping to repeat the first semester of physics this spring and take the second one over the summer. I was hoping to sit for the MCAT over the summer, but I’m not sure if shooting for Fall 2010 enrollment is overly ambitious.

Thanks for any input you can provide!

~alison

Allison,