PhD-MD??

Yes, I wrote PhD-MD, not MD-PhD.

So I have a master’s in psychology and have been working in research / education technology for years. I’m taking organic chem right now.

Last week, I just got recruited by one of the experts I work with to work directly with him at his university and get a fully paid PhD in psychology (cognitive or developmental). He is associated with the top education research institutes in the country (he’s actually the assoc. director). We are working together on a new reading assessment, which raises a lot of research questions for my company, and it would be easy for me to design a project for the dissertation that gets me data, is relevant, and that I could even get paid for and finally own the intellectual rights to it.

I am interested in the clinical aspects of medicine as well as research. Right now my primary interest is in research and practice in psychosomatic medicine, as related to oncology, surgery, sports medicine. In a PhD like this one, I would gain really good statistical and research skills. I could also continue to take advanced bio and chem courses–I am finishing up my last pre-req this year–so long as it somehow fits into what I am doing. My friend, who just finished a phd in clinical psych, said the the post-doc fellowships at medical centers, which hire MD PHDs as well as regular PhDs, will be looking for people with background in both of these.

I wonder if anyone has any feedback for me about how I could leverage this opportunity as I move forward on my winding path to medical research and practice, esp those with a research background.

really, does no one have an opinion on doing a phd in psychology on way to md ??

I think the reason a lot of people haven’t responded is that most people haven’t considered doing a PhD and MD consecutively.