PhD to MD

Hi all,
I’m a long time SDN member but just joined OPM. I’m graduating this spring with my PhD in chemistry, and I’ll be starting medical school this fall. I plan to go into academic medicine. Right now I’m thinking I’ll do pain research. I have some prior experience with this field, and I feel that my chemistry background will be an asset.

Hey Q - nice to see you over here! Welcome to OPM!
Amy

Quote:

Hi all,
I’m a long time SDN member but just joined OPM. I’m graduating this spring with my PhD in chemistry, and I’ll be starting medical school this fall. I plan to go into academic medicine. Right now I’m thinking I’ll do pain research. I have some prior experience with this field, and I feel that my chemistry background will be an asset.

Yeah Q, it took awile for you to come over to the “oldside”!!
PS- I’m 1Path on SDN

Ha ha, yeah, it did. I thought this site was just for pre-meds, and I was already through all of the pre-reqs/MCAT/apps so I thought there wasn’t any point for me to join now. But OldManDave said that it’s for everyone, even residents and physicians, so…here I am. How have things been going for you? I haven’t seen much of you on SDN lately.

Hey Q!
Thought I’d say howdy, too.

Thanks, you guys. Wow, the whole non-trad gang is here. I saw efex too. I must have been the only person who didn’t know that I should join OPM.

We’re glad you’re here! Sometimes this place keeps me sane after some posts I read in the pre-allo forum from SDN. For the most part, everyone here speaks from their heart, and in the past 6 months or so, every one has been extremely helpful, and no one hurtful. You don’t get that on many anonymous boards… that’s why I love OPM!

Quote:

Hi all,

Q,

Let me offer my personal welcome to OPM! I am glad to see you have chosen to come over, join & now participate in OPM. I think you have a wealth of info & experience to contribute & I look forward to many interactions with you.