Physician Life

I haven’t had an opportunity to shadow a doctor yet, but I have a quick question for anyone who can answer my general question. I am still in undergrad but I am older and have worked in emergency medicine before, and I don’t think it’s for me anymore. Part of that reason is that the work schedule is very exhausting. I was wondering, are all specialties super time intensive. I am considering pediatrics because I love kids and I would like to spend holidays and weekends with my family. Is that unrealistic? How much choice do I have when it comes time to pick a specialty? Thanks everybody!!!

Caveat that I’m still a med student, but I’ve done a week at an outpatient peds clinic. The clinic saw patients from about 8-5, and the physicians would rotate call at the nursery for newborns. They ran 1/2 day sick-call clinic on Saturdays that also rotated. Depending on the patient load, they would end up catching up on paperwork after the last patient of the day. The guy I was with seemed like he worked about 10-12 hours/day when all was said and done.

Your choice in specialty will be dependent on your performance in school and on the board exams (Steps 1 and 2). In reality, there’s a lot of weight put on board scores, so you can have a general idea as to your chances for a specific specialty ahead of time. US grads have a pretty good chance at at least landing the specialty of their choice (assuming you don’t fail the boards and want to be a neurosurgeon), but location is the major question. Matching (finding out your residency), in a nutshell, is like you interviewing for a bunch of jobs in a variety of locations then later finding out which one you ended up with. You rank the spots you apply for, and they in turn rank all of their interviewees. Everything gets thrown into some crazy algorithm at a central processing place. Once the selection is made, you’re stuck with it.