Physician model or Nursing model?

Hello folks,
Could someone kindly explain to me the difference b/w these two models, and perhaps why one would choose to become a physician rather than a nurse.
Is it simply that a doc does the diagnosing with limited patient care, and the nurse (or NP)does the majority of patient care and interaction?
Thank you.

Wow where to start? I’m an RN in Med school and so far the big difference is how in depth I study Anatomy, cell , embryo ect. It is at a much higher level. It seems to me that as a Nurse I was way involved in Psych/Social aspect of the well being of Patients. Everything seemed to be surrounding fulfilling basic human mental and physical needs while healthy or in Illness. Carry out the medical and nursing care plan. Coordinate care for the Patient with the MD. As far as a Nurse Practioner, well I would think it would be the aspects of the RN expanded into the part of the role of the MD, but not completely, in many instances an MD still steps in when it comes to a NP and PA.

As far as Patient interaction I think you can have a lot of interaction as an MD I want to do rural FP and hope to have more contact with my patients in that setting.

As an RN I found the work occupied a lot of my time and with Hospitals and even Homecare time was short and I did not have a lot of time to spend with Patients. If you are really interested in both I suggest you shadow both! RN’s and NP’s are different so you may want to shadow all 3!

Maybe a PA,NP and or Mary here can post more on this?

Good Luck

Oh boy that’s an interesting question. Having worked on both sides of that “fence” now, you’d think I could articulate an answer but I fear I may lapse into jargon… I will try not to.