Planning for med school after PhD at 34!

Hello all,

This is my first time in these forums and am excited to see all the discussions here. I am a 34 yr old non-traditional student planning to get into a MD or MD/PhD program starting 2016 and considering to appear for the MCAT in the first week of August. Briefly, below is my academic/professional background:

1. BS - Mechanical Engineering (Foreign) - 3.98 GPA
  2. MS - Mechanical Engineering (From a school ranked in the top 50 in the US) - 3.5 GPA
  3. MS - Aerospace Engineering (From a school ranked in the top 3 in the US!) - 3.6 GPA
  4. PhD - Aerospace Engineering (From a school ranked in the top 3 in the US!) - pursued research related to bio-inspired flight - 3.6 GPA
  5. Work experience - Since the last 5 years in an engineering firm
  6. Shadowing experience - 20 hrs so far with a pediatrician, planning to start shadowing an Oncologist shortly.

Even though my degrees are in engineering, the research methodologies I have used/developed are generally applicable to medical problems as well. I have a fair number of research publications.