PLEASE HELP. . . . .

Hello All, (my apologies as this will be a long post)

I have noticed that you all have very good, honest discussion, with an almost dizzying array of experiences and perspectives. . . . I need some serious advice.

I am a former musician who (after MUCH thought and prayer) has decided to embark upon the path to becoming a physician. I am a professional employee of Columbia University, and decided to look into the possibility of enrolling into their postbac program. Honestly, I knew full-well that my academic history would be an obstacle, but decided ‘nothing ventured, nothing gained’. I left my informational session quite depressed (if I am to be honest). I am now reeling–wondering if the stupidity and academic ‘mistakes’ of my youth will now come to exact their revenge. . . .

I feel a little background is needed:

I attended undergrad on a full music scholarship to one of the countries most solid music programs [I’ll leave that name out here], and POURED myself into the study of my instrument (tuba). Like many musicians, it became my singular goal and focus, and how I defined myself in the ‘world’. I did all this to the neglect and severe detriment of my ‘general educational’ requirements–making sure that I went to Biology or Chemistry just enough (usually just for tests) to get the ‘C’ or ‘D’ I needed to satisfy the requirement. I graduated from college having been offered a professional residency at a music conservatory, I was also a working, touring chamber musician (brass quintet), and a few years later had been accepted to the live rounds of the International Tuba/Euphonium Competition–one of the most prestigious events in the field. I say this not to boast in the least, but to say that I had reached a ‘professional’ level of skill and musicianship on my horn, and was well on my way to career performing and teaching–just how I had always envisioned!