Please Help

I graduated College in 2003 with a degree in biomedical engineering. Unfortunately, my gpa was extremely low, 2.3. I was discouraged by my counselor to try medical school and encouraged to be a P.A., which I did not want to be. While working full time as a chemist for a pharmaceutical company; I decided to get my MBA from AIU and graduated with a ~3.85. I have been a medical sales rep and sales manager since 2005 and have helped successfully grown the the company by 50% every year. I want to be an oncologist and I am willing to do whatever it takes. I am actually in a better position right now than I was 7 years ago for med school.

I’m in a very similar boat… I also graduated college in '03 with a science degree and a low GPA; I also now work in industry where I’ve had success; I also now want to attend medical school.

Before leaping in, I’d recommend you start by testing the waters:

First, see how you feel about a clinical environment. In other words, put your dream to a test… see if you really truly enjoy what it is that a doctor does. But don’t do it just once and say “yup, this is for me;” you have to keep at it until the novelty wears off. That way, you can honestly assess your interest. For example, I started my “exploration” by volunteering at a free clinic; some days are awesome, some days are grueling, some days are boring… every day, though, I ask myself “is this what I want to do with my life?”