Poor Grades at First Undergrad Before Transfer

I’m seriously considering going to med school and I was wondering if anyone could offer me any advice. I graduated from undergrad two years ago. It took me about 5 years to graduate b/c for the first 3 1/2 years, I basically didn’t go to class. I ended up having a 1.13 GPA at my first undergrad. After that, I got my act together and transferred to another school, where I graduated summa cum laude with a 3.93 GPA. I haven’t taken any science classes, and I would go back to take the preqrequisites. I think the cum from these two schools is a 2.84 (or something atrocious like that). Is there any way for me to erase semesters of F’s when I didn’t even take the finals??

Anyway, before I invest years in attempting to go to med school, I’d like to know if anyone can give me advice on whether I even have a shot of getting into a reputable med school (assuming that I get a decent score on the MCAT’s 30+).

Also, I am currently in my second year of law school, and I intend to complete my legal studies before pursuing a medical degree. Does that help my case in any way in terms of putting distance between myself and my poor grades? What if I do well in law school?

Thanks in advance!

Number of people on this forum got into the med school with their original GPA being lower than 3.0. For the GPA calculation purposes all your undergrad grades are going to be ‘lumped’ together so what the schools will see is 2.84 (adjusted by whatever grades you’ll get in your prerequisites). The upward trend matters so assuming you’ll do very well in your science classes you have a shot. Your law school grades will be considered separately. While they don’t necessary predict your ability to do well in science/ medical courses directly, they definitely reflect your commitment to studying and hard working and will definitely work in your favor if you do well.