Poor undergrad grades, med school chances

First time poster here. I graduated from a major state university with a 2.9 gpa, getting a couple Cs, Ds and an F in the core sciences (orgo, bio etc).

Then I aced a federal test and got selected to be an air traffic controller in the second busiest facility in the world, and have been working there for six months.

My question is this: With my work experience, if I get a solid MCAT score (35+), and retake and ace some core science classes at a community college, is there any chance of getting into an american medical school? Or is there something additional I need to be doing to increase my chances of getting accepted?

Would truly appreciate any helpful replies. Thanks

Hi there! I dunno if there’s hope for us 2.9 GPA’s or not. But at least trying will let me know for sure. I know there’s another guy here who had a lower GPA and I think he got into med school. Hopefully he’ll chime in.

Good luck though, on whatever you decide.

With an MCAT of 35+ you would have an outstanding chance. There are numerous scenarios where students with a less than stellar gpa and a highly competitive MCAT have been excepted, also you want to strengthen your extra cirricular activities as well. Clubs, boards volunteering are a must.

The greater the variety the better. You must stand out as a candidate who is very diverse in his/her experiences…

This does not mean obviously to slack on your GPA, always strive to do the very best that you can, and try for that 4.0. My point being, make yourself diverse, and strive to do the very best that you can. That said, there are many factors in considering a candidate for acceptance.

Really good to hear theres hope.

Far as extracurriculars go, are there some activities preferred over others?

Also, typically how many community college science classes would it take to show an admissions committee that a student is a strong candidate, in spite of the poor gpa?