post-bac advice and work load

Hi everyone!
The forums have been extremely helpful…well I’m a non-traditional student-which I’d like to believe…
Well I’m attending a 15 month Post-bac program in the Fall.
I’ll be required to take 2 classes a semester/3 days a week.
I’m plan on continuing into a Masters program if necessary.
I graduated from college 9 years ago with a low GPA. I did work full-time during college to pay for school and that didn’t help my grades. I was busy all the time doing something!
Now I’m more mature and have slowed down to focus. I need advice about planning my pre-med goals. Currently I work as a cancer research technologist at UMDNJ-affiliated with the the 2 med schools in NJ.
My entire 17 years of working have been in the medical feild! I’ve done everything from volunteering, to working in the kitchen to research…I’m also single with no children.
I don’t want to repeat my past-Can anyone please tell me-what type of work load did you have when you did post-bac work? Should I stop working and just volunteer? What GPA is realistic for consideration? What about a masters?
I need help planning my life outside of school- I am wlling to make the sacrifices. I want to make the grades!!
If these topics were discussed in another forum please let me know…
Thanks!

Quote:

I don’t want to repeat my past-Can anyone please tell me-what type of work load did you have when you did post-bac work? Should I stop working and just volunteer? What GPA is realistic for consideration? What about a masters?

The work load is going to depend on you. Since you indicated that you need to overcome past grades, you need to rock in your post-bac work. There are those on this site who worked full time while taking two classes a semester, so it can be done. A lot of it will depend on what classes you are taking. Lab classes take up a lot more time than non-lab classes.