Post-Bac - I don't fit?!

I am running into some obstacles on my pre-med journey… then again, aren’t we all?

I teach high school science and I was a biology major. I appreciate all of the comments on my first post: Second Bachelor’s. But I am faced with a new situation…

Because I majored in Biology already, most schools, that I am looking into for my second bachelor’s, will only allow me to complete upper division courses toward a new major. This won’t work out for me since I really screwed up during my undergrad years (read: my BCPM = below a 2.0 GPA). There is a laundry list of explanations/excuses to explain why, but the fact is the damage has been done.

I thought a formal post-bac geared toward career changers would be more appropriate considering the fact that I needed to take ALL of my pre-reqs over with a fresh start and I was already teaching school. However, these programs only allow NON-SCIENCE degreed students with a 3.0 or above.

I would consider a “do it yourself” program, but I just don’t have the money. The California school system of public education (lower and higher ed) is going through our usual cycle of the budget, which means we’re in crisis mode right now. Teachers and counselors I work with are getting pink slips left and right. My own husband has to look for work in another school district after his school told him they were “letting him go”. With the budget being is dis, Public Universities are not open to allowing ‘non-degree’ seeking students, or even (2nd) ‘degree-seeking’ students! Private schools are out of the picture financially, because even with grants and scholarships I would still need to take out SOME loans. Unfortunately I’ve used up all of my financial aid eligibility during my SIX years of undergrad.