Post-bac troubles

Hi everyone,

I have an odd problem and am hoping someone will have advice on how to overcome it. I’m 25, have been out of school 3.5 years now, and I have a bachelor’s in Biology from a good school, but I know I need to do a post-bac program to improve my grades. The issue is that my experience/credentials are all over the place and I don’t really qualify for most programs because I graduated college with a dismal GPA (overall 2.73). This school is sort of known for “weeding” out undergrad science majors by making it extremely difficult to get above a C in the pre-requisites (Bio, Chem, Calculus…)so I muddled through those classes getting straight C’s. When I got to upper divisions I actually enjoyed my major again and improved my grades, but not enough to counteract all those C’s.

PS, I also failed and had to re-take a semester of Organic Chem lab, not sure if that F will bar me from any/all future schools? Probably. Ugh. I promise I’m not a moron, in high school I actually had a super high GPA and SAT scores so I try to remind myself regularly that I have a brain somewhere in my head.

Dreams of med school seemingly crushed after college, I figured I would just get a job and see how life goes. I’ve spent every day wishing I had done better in college, so now I’m fed up with wondering what could have been and am trying to figure out how to get back on track! No luck so far showing my interest in medicine or research through my work experience - I’ve only managed to get work in general admin sort of positions. I have been volunteering at a physical therapy program for disabled children and in Jan will be starting a volunteer program at a hospital (does anyone else feel like getting a volunteering position at a hospital is as competitive as getting a job? How many pre-med people are there??).