Post-Bacc Advice: Formal vs Texas Fresh Start

Hello everyone,

I have some questions on what my next step should be. I am in my late-20’s, currently finishing up my last year of undergrad in a non-science major. I was a terrible student all throughout my life (failed my first class in the 3rd grade, graduated high school with a sub-2.0 UW GPA), and a lot of my bad habits from high school spilled over into my formative undergrad years as a Biology major (my original undergrad major). I ended up dropping out for a few years and taking classes here and there, but a lot of damage was done, and unfortunately most of it counted towards my science GPA (at one point I had a sGPA <1.0). I have now been a full-time student for the past 2 academic school years. Last year, I averaged a 3.9 GPA, and this year I am really hoping to squeeze out that ever-elusive 4.0 GPA (I got a 4.0 Fall Quarter). FINGERS CROSSED

Nonetheless, I am at a mental crossroads now. The clock’s ticking down as I’m inching closer to my graduation, but I’m still debating whether or not to pursue a formal post-bacc career changer program or a DIY. I like the idea of a small pre-med cohort with advisors and guidance, so the idea of attending a formal post-bacc has its allure. However, due to a string of truly horrific grades during my younger undergrad years, my overall GPA is nothing pretty, which might make me a less than desirable candidate. Hence, why I was looking into a DIY post-bacc. My plan B, aka my DIY plan, would be to move Texas to live and work there for year to gain TX residency before applying for a Second Bachelor’s to fulfill my prereq’s and hopefully take advantage of Texas’ Academic Fresh Start program (grades +10 years old are not considered when applying to graduate programs in Texas), and maybe also reap the benefits of being a Texas resident during my actual med school application process.

My current stats: