Post Bacc... Canadians...Please HELP!

Hi Folks,

I have been reading through various topics and I must say I am impressed by the dedicated members who provide well thought out helpful responses.

I am in desperate need of some help. I am a canadian student, I have completed my BSc Physiotherapy in the UK and I have completed a few undergrad courses at UBC (not a great GPA). I have dreamed of entering medicine for years, and this desire has only gotten much stronger since i started work in the hospital. As a result I have been looking at some post bacc programs in the US (since there are none offered in canada), but i have been unable to find many that accept canadian students. If anyone could provide some advice or feedback I would greatly aprreciate it. I want to make this happen, I just now have to figure out how.

Thanks

Hi

I’m a Canadian and I came to the some conclusion - no “formal” post bacc programs in Canada. I looked into a few of the formal programs in the US, but as I had a BSc already (20 years old), I was pretty much told across the board that they would not accept me into the programs.

Depending on where you want to go to school (Can or US) will determine what you have to do. I am in Ontario and I had a very strong final year in my undergraduate (the others years weren’t too strong but did show an improvement) so a couple of the med schools here (Western, Queens, Ottawa) only look at your best 2 years or last 2 years. So I am going back full time next year to get another really good year so I can apply to those universities. I am also covering my bases though and re-taking the pre-reqs, in part to prepare for the MCAT and also to allow me the option of applying to some US schools that accept Canadian students).

It really comes down to doing a lot of research, asking questions of the med schools you are interested in and developing a plan that will work for you.