Post-bacc courses at a CC?

Is it possible to take the course requirements at a community college? I am a HS teacher and would like to continue working while taking some prerequisite courses. It would make a career change a more feasible option if I could do night classes at the local CC.

Thanks!

you can, MANY schools will consider it a big negative though and even if you have a 4.0 from community college you will still likely have ~50-70% of the science knowledge of people that got good grades at a 4 year school.

If you are not very selective about med school or want to do be a DO I think community college is a good option.

If its a necessity that you go to community college and really kick ass in other areas I would imagine some med schools will understand that

Could I just take courses at a state school and not be a part of a post-bacc “program” then?

Yes, there are plenty of folks doing DIY post-baccs.

There is still a stigma against CC course in the minds of many adcoms, fair or not. I realize that there are many quality CCs and many quality professors at CCs, some of which may actually be better than 4 year schools. The reality is that taking courses at a CC will put you at a disadvantage when applying when compared to traditional students from 4 year universities.

I always recommend that people take their courses at the best 4 year school they can afford and that works for them. If you have to take the pre-reqs at a CC, you should try to take at least a couple of upper level science courses at a 4 year institution and do very well on the MCAT. The MCAT is the great equalizer, so doing well on it can help counter some of the negative perception of CC courses. And, of course, you should get all A’s. An A at a CC is not perceived the same as an A at a 4 year, and anything less than an A is perceived as worse than the equivalent grade at a 4 year institution.