Post bacc. pre-reqs in NY

Hello,

This question might have already been asked, but I haven’t been able to find a sufficient answer so here it goes:

I graduated from Fordham with my BA in Philosophy and English in 2009 with a 3.65 (while working at a law firm 20 hours a week).

I am living in Manhattan and interested in taking pre-reqs for medical school, but I have no idea where to take them. Hunter College is the least expensive, only several hundred dollars per credit - But will any medical school take me seriously with pre-reqs from a city school?

I can’t afford the tuition at a private university while living in manhattan and already have significant debt from undergrad.

Has anyone else dealt with post-bacc pre-reqs in the metro area? Any advice/experience would be greatly appreciated.

The Hunter college post-bacc program is fine for taking pre-reqs as is Hunter itself. I would tend to stay away from the community colleges in the CUNY system but the 4 yr colleges are generally fine.

Your other options in the NYC metro area are NYU and Columbia which are significantly more expensive. I don’t know anything about the CCNY program but since Hunter is close and comparable it seems the logical choice.

• nypremed Said:
But will any medical school take me seriously with pre-reqs from a city school?

Yes, they will. Hunter has a highly regarded programs and, surprisingly, Baruch has an high success with premeds getting accepted in their regular UG. Outside of Manhattan (yes, New York City exist outside of Manhattan) Queens College and Brooklyn College have good success.

And of course, CCNY itself does pretty good boasting 9 Nobel Laureates who did their undergrad work there.

Besides the cost at NYU and Columbia the intra-program competition is brutal. My perception is that doing well in perhaps a less prestigious program is both easier to accomplish and impresses an adcom more than a mediocre performance at a more prestigious institition