Post-Bacc Program Wants Me to Retake ACT

So I got around the 50-60th percentile on my ACT back when I couldn’t have cared less about academics, much less medical school.

I am currently in the process of applying to post-baccs and one of these programs suggests that I take the ACT again. The director of the program told me that the ACT is usually within two points of a student’s eventual MCAT score and that the ACT is an “extremely accurate” indicator of one’s performance on the MCAT.

Does anyone know if there is much truth to that last statement? I have always been a mediocre standardized test-taker, but something tells me that if I have a mastery of the subject matter on the MCAT, then it will be different than most of my stadardized testing experiences (because I had a mastery of nothing!).

Any insight anyone could offer would be very helpful to me. Good luck to everyone on the April MCAT!

I suppose that your scores on the ACT or SAT may be somewhat correlated to the MCAT in that they’re all standardized test, but “extremely accurate”? Sounds like an exaggeration to me, sure some kids do great all around, while others aced high school and bombed college or vice versa. Retaking a college entrance exam after you’ve already graduated from college seems kind of silly to me. Are there other (more recent) standardized test scores you could submit, i.e. GRE, LSAT, GMAT? I would think that if they’re looking to see how you do on standardized tests they could look at those. I’d think they would correlate as much as the SAT or ACT (which perhaps isn’t saying much).

That sounds really wierd! Even if ACT scores do correlate to MCAT scores–YOUR score would be skewed by the fact that you’re older and have been to college. I don’t see how it would give them what they’re looking for. The GRE, maybe?
Do the ACT people even let college students/grads take the test?
Sorry I don’t have any real advice, but good luck!