Post-bacc questions

Hi,

I graduated as a Finance major from Virginia Tech with no science courses. Played professional poker for a year and am now back in school at my local university taking solely science courses so I can get into medical school.

1. I am only taking two courses, Biology and Physics since I dont have any prerequisites for the other science courses such as Anatomy, Microbiology, etc. How bad does this look? Should I have taken non-science courses to increase my courseload?

2. I’m aceing biology but not doing too well in my calculus-based physics class, which I had to take because trig-based physics was not available this semester. The professor is terrible at teaching the material and his tests are ridiculously hard with the class average usually at 55-60 range. I’ll most likely get a ‘C’ in the course if I stick it through but am thinking about withdrawing from the course. How bad would a ‘W’ look on my transcript?

3. I graduated Tech with a 3.48 GPA. Assuming I do well in my post-bacc science courses, will this increase my GPA?

Appreciate any and all help!
  • minwoo Said:
...Played professional poker for a year and am now back in school at my local university...

Sweet! I was a bouncer & bartender for several years. I was unsure of whether or not to include this part of my background. Anecdotally, I only got interviews at programs where I revealed this info & it was regarded a positive people-skills building thing versus something sordid tantamount to prostitution. I am not deluded into thinking that info landed me interviews, but it did appear to inspire some interest by AdComs in my application...maybe just for being ballsy enough to put it there?

• minwoo Said:
1. I am only taking two courses, Biology and Physics since I dont have any prerequisites for the other science courses such as Anatomy, Microbiology, etc. How bad does this look? Should I have taken non-science courses to increase my courseload?