Post Bacc???

I have read many posts of advice for getting your pre-reqs taken care of, when you have already gotten your B.A… It looks like most people say post-bacc programs are unnecessary, just do it on your own. However I have been warned of community/ junior colleges.

Therefore it seems like taking the pre-reqs at a local university/ college is the best route for me.

My question is how do I go about this. I graduated from UCLA in 09, with a 3.0 and a degree in philosophy. I would love to take the classes at UCLA but how does one do this. I’m open to state schools too or other locations even, but where does in the informal route start?

It starts by looking at different schools and figuring out a few things. Do they offer the courses you need when you need them? Can you register as a student (I’ve heard that some schools in Cali are putting limitations on letting people enroll in undergrad classes if they already have a degree)? If they accept you as a student, will you be able to enroll in the classes you need or will you be last in line and get shut out of your courses (pre-med courses typically fill up very quickly and if you have lowest registration priority, you may find yourself unable to register)?

You may really need to do a lot of research . . . with the budget cuts in Cali, a lot of people are finding that they are having problems getting accepted and/or being able to register for the classes they need. Some people have decided to go the formal route for just that reason.

Unfortunately, it just involves a lot of legwork. Read through the forums here and on SDN - there are lots of Cali people who have are in the same boat who might have some advice for you.