Post-Baccs at Night NYC Area

Hi Everyone!

I am new here, but have been keeping up on the posts for a while now.

I was a teacher for a few years. I decided to quit to do a post-bacc. at Stony Brook, but put it off to teach for another year due to money matters. Now, I have am determined to get my courses completed and go to Med. school. My problem is that I want to work at my new 9-5; however, I can’t seem to find a school (state school) that has pre-med courses after 5.

I’ve looked at the course schedules for the summer for Hunter, and CCNY. Everything is smack in the middle of the day. I looked into Purchase, but an employee told me that it is difficult for a 9-5er to get night classes there.

Does anyone know of any in the city/Westchester area?

Thanks.

Nothing?

City College and Hunter both have a large selection of evening courses and a big group of students in your/our shoes. I am at CCNY and recommend it highly. The night selection at CCNY for this summer is pretty lean–physics and calculus only–but during the year, I’ve had no trouble after the first semester. (New students register last.)

SC

SUNY @ Old Westbury was starting to have some in the evening with the intention of setting up a complete cycle of them. I took my last physics lab there one night a week. I dont know how far it got after 2006

Hi there,

I too was looking for a state school - preferably at night. After recent cutbacks from NY state, however, I decided that I’d apply to Columbia, despite the steep price tag. The reason was that I heard numerous students were cut out of taking classes at CUNY, thus, you could end up having to take Bio II before Bio I, or taking longer to finish the program.