Postbac Programs--Can't Decide!

Hi all–

I am new to this site, but am so glad to find it. A quick word about me–I am 26, female, living in NYC, and have been working as an education non-profit employee by day and a poet by night the last several years. I have a BA in English and a Masters in creative writing. Recently–and partially as a result of donating an organ to my sister–I have decided, unequivocally, to pursue a career in medicine. I have been on cloud 9 ever since coming to this conclusion–I can’t wait!

Now I am trying to make some practical decisions about where to get my postbac starting this fall. I have done my homework and read the other posts about this on this site, hoping for insight, but still feel lost. I’m basically torn between doing a very expensive postbac at NYU or Columbia or saving a lot of money by going to Hunter or CUNY. It seems like there’s no middle ground in this town. It also seems like people who do expensive postbacs find ways to justify going into massive debt and people who go a cheaper route find ways to justify going to a school that may not immediately ‘wow’ adcoms.

But is there conventional wisdom on this? Is it a situation where if you can find a way to make it work financially you should go to the most prestigious program you can? And if you can’t, it’s ok because you’ll still probably get into med school if you get good grades and otherwise have an impressive application? Right now, it’s looking like a combination of loans, a parental safety net, and the fact that I have no little mouths to feed will make one of these high-profile, high-priced programs feasible, but is it a waste of money? I want to do everything in my power to get into a good med school in a timely fashion, but I don’t want to be a sucker! (By the way, to the great majority of you who can’t or won’t get help from parents or family–my hat goes off to you. You have my deepest respect.)