pre-med advisor was very dismissive today

ok, so i went to the pre-med advisor at the university where i’m taking my final 3 prerequisites. i told her straight from the get-go, “i’m 51 years old, etc. etc.” she said that i should call the medical school admissions at the only med school in my area and ask if i would be “TAKEN SERIOUSLY” if i applied. she also reminded me that i would be 53 before actually beginning med school and 57 when i graduated and 60 when i finish residency. she was completely discouraging and said that i would be competing with people of a much higher energy level. i told her that i have been a fitness instructor for over 20 years and that i have tons of energy. she said that was “GOOD,” but that wouldn’t prove anything to the admissions committee. she also said that she doesn’t know of anyone who was accepted into med school after age 50. long story short, she encouraged me to look into PA school or optometry school.

i had planned to retake organic I this fall (already enrolled) since i’ve forgotten my organic from my undergrad years, as well as microbiology. school starts on monday. wow, people are very negative. maybe i’m in denial.

I think we have someone on site who didn’t get to med school until their fifties. And a few who didn’t start residency until then. Hopefully they will chime in for you. I would feel discouraged after that, but it would probably make we want to prove them wrong. Good luck.

Hi Shelia,

There are people who you work with and those who you need to work around. Sounds like you need to work around her.

The med school(s) won’t have a chance to take you seriously if you do not apply.

I think you will need to have a strong inner vision of what you want and to carry it, keep it, and protect it. What matters is that you and your family have the vision and believe in it. There will likely be many moments and encounters that may weaken your resolve, if you allow it.