Pre-Med courses dilemma...help!!

This morning I went to the Uof Houston campus and spoke to a counselor about doing a post bacc pre-med.

I came out feeling…‘my thoughts of becoming a Doctor are shot down!’ … a thought at least…

First: I have a Bachelor in Engineering from India which he says wont count…and I have an MS in Computer Science from the US. He said that wont count either! I have to take 90 hours of classes starting with English I …

pretty much…a second undergrad degree…

That was a shock to hear that!

I mean, when he said I will have to do English I and II and Math all over again…

Second: The advisor’s attitude - ‘Yeeeahh…and we ALL live to a 100!!’ …‘True…your kids are grown a bit now…but they are still kids and need you!’… 'oookkkk…even if you are a great student…you will still need good communication skills etc etc…" etc. etc… he assumed I dont have any because of

Hey, my exception to the whole talk was…I did not ask for ‘opinions’ …simply information,

of course…that was bad news too!

Any one on these forums are in the situation with a BS degree from abroad who want to do MD? How did you surmount this issue?

It is disappointing to know that there is NO credit for ANY education I ve had so far for an MD path. Believe me, I worked my butt off to get these degrees…

All opinions welcome!!!

My next step is to register for a Basic EMT course and work as an EMT to get exposure.

I will wait for more information before registering for pre med classes.

Why am I wanting to do an MD when I am 41 right now? The thought does not go away…no matter what I do!!! so I have to take care of it by going ahead with my instinct!

Thanks in advance,

Sara