Pre-Med Guidance

Hello, everyone:

I know you are all busy people, and I know what I’m about to post is very trite and redundant, however, I need some direction.

My background is quite scattered: I went to a community college and did miserably. I didn’t want to be there; I failed courses, and withdrew from many, too, including the few science classes I did take. After writhing in academic probation for three years at the community college, I met my wife and we were pregnant very quickly and unexpectedly. I was 21, had completed a year’s worth of courses, and had a baby on the way with a woman I hardly knew. I did what I had to do, I got my grades up enough to transfer to Seton Hill University. My first semester there was rough. I moved out, was working 30-40 hours a week as a bartender, and going to school. After my child was born, I took about a year off to get organized. I went back to Seton Hill, and after seven years and a child, I graduated with a 3.25 with a B.A. in history. Now, I have contemplated medicine since I was 5 when I would go to the hospital with my father, but I didn’t take myself seriously, or school for that matter. After graduating, in an awful economy, I decided to just take a year or so and think things through. I worked odd jobs and we got by; now, I started a job in sales, but it isn’t what I want, however, we have two children and money is a concern; my parents are not wealthy, and I don’t have piles of money laying around, so I don’t know what to do, or how serious a candidate I am. I have shadowed a couple of times in the last year, and I want to go to medical school. I am 27 now. From what I have been told, working full-time while taking classes and shadowing, etc… is nearly impossible. Plus, none of the local schools offer courses at night only. So, due to money, I would like to begin at a CC. Is this ok? Should I plan on taking a few upper-level courses at a university? And, aside from shadowing, what other EC’s should I be consider