pre-med pre-reqs, integretive medicine, volunteer

Hello! I’ve been digging through the posts on this great site and am so relieved to find so many kindred spirits!
I’m in the midst of a major life transition at the tender age of 34, and considering a career in medicine. My educational background includes an English B.A. (1994) and a four-year certificate in the fine arts (printmaking, 1999).
Several years ago I stumbled across a description of alternative/complementary medicine (Naturopathy, Ayurveda, Homeopathy, etc.), and since that time (1996) complementary medicine has become increasingly visible. I recently had a conversation with an RN who works at a natural health center, and she suggested I pursue Osteopathy with alternative therapies incorporated per my interest. I agree with her advice and would like to find a balance between the allopathic and the alternative (i.e. integrative medicine). As an aside: I am a certified yoga instructor and am fascinated by the healing of the body as well as the direct one-to-one relationships I have with my students.
Five years ago I considered this course, but rationalized my way out of it. And now I’m five years older…Today, I’m taking a deep breath and finding the steps to undertake this challenge. I’m looking at post-bac pre-med programs in the Philadelphia area…currently leaning towards West Chester University’s program (reasonable cost). I have plans to volunteer at HUP in their pre-med volunteer program (starting in May), as well as at a hospice (training in April).
I would love to hear about your opinions of and experience/exposure to alternative/complementary medecine; especially in medical school. Also, am I overlooking anything in terms of being an attractive pre-med and medical school candidate? I worry that I will have to justify my desire to purse medicine. As an OPM, has anyone had to do so?
I would greatly appreciate hearing anyone’s insight/advice/opinions.
Thanks so much!
Tricia

Tricia,