Pre-req/MCAT plan

Hello everyone-

I have been reading a lot of the posts that people have been putting on here and have found a lot of stories that I feel I can relate to. Here is mine.

In undergrad I was a Computer Science major and graduated with a 3.62 GPA. I went to grad school a year after undergrad and got my MSEd in Health and Human Performance. My graduate GPA was 3.95. For the last 3 years I have been a strength and conditioning coach on the professional level and now have decided I want to take all this anatomy and science stuff I really enjoy as a coach, but take it further, challenge myself more, and help people more than what my knowledge currently allows me to do.

Unfortunately, in undergrad the only pre-req med school course I took was Phys I. So here is my current plan. I am quitting my job and lucky enough to have a fiancee (soon to be wife in about 2 months) who is willing to support me for the next 6+ years. I am enrolled in Bio I and Chem I for Fall '08. I will then take Bio II and Chem II in Spring '09 and then Organic Chem I and Phys II in Summer '09. During Spring/Summer '09 I also plan on taking a Kaplan MCAT prep course and then taking the MCAT in August of 2009. Unfortunately, this means I will be taking the MCAT before taking my last pre-req course, Organic Chem II, which will be done in Fall '09, but in order for me to apply to med-school for August 2010 enrollemnt this is the way it has to be done as far as I can figure.

I also plan on doing volunteer/shadowing while I am doing my pre-reqs. I have contacts in Denver (where I will be) from my cousin who is a cardiologist who did his residency in Denver, and also from our team doctors who know the team doctors for the professional teams in Denver, so I’m hoping finding those opportunities won’t be a problem.