Pre-reqs at community college?

Hi again,

I was looking through the website of the school where I want to take pre-reqs and conveniently none of them offer evening classes. (I work full time) and no, I cannot work part time or “take some time off”…

What have people said about taking courses at a community college? is that frowned upon? Do adcoms not accept CC credits? (I have a degree from a 4yr)

Should I even bother looking into CC? Any advice would help a lot.

Putnam

the issue has been discussed at length and a search on the forum will probably provide you a better idea.

Generally, it is advised to go 4y, but when you can’t then go CC. A’s are a must obviously and you have to ace the MCAT (you kind of have more pressure to do so, showing that your background is as good as, or better than 4y university students).

Pre-reqs from CC are better than no pre-reqs.

thanks, ill look for the CC posts.

I’m in the middle of transferring from a cc to a 4yr for the very reason of science pre-reqs taken at a cc not being viewed favorably. I figure, better safe than sorry. Besides, I think the adcoms may see it as proving a lot about your dedication, to face a challenge like this and choose the more sound but uncomfortable option.

Hi, Putnam.