Pre-reqs completion or MCAT first?

Hello

I am new to this site. I have a Masters in Biochem (from India - 1994) and am currently taking courses at Penn State to complete my pre-reqs here in the U.S.

At the end of this year (2006), I will have completed 1 year of Bio, 1 year of Gen Chem, 1 semester of Org Chem and 1 semester of English (I am a non-native English speaker). I will still have 2 semesters of Physics and 1 semester of Org Chem to take.

I want to be able to do the MCAT in April or May 2007. So I am planning on preparing for it starting Jan 07. Keep in mind that I have not done any Physics and 2nd semester Org Chem. Is it okay to self study and do the MCAT first and then do the pre-reqs after that? Or is it a bad idea?

The reason for this is that if I continue with pre-reqs in Spring 07, I may not have time to prepare for the April, May or June MCAT. I have heard that the earlier in the year you do the MCAT, the better off your chances are. I want to apply next year so that I can matriculate in 2008. Sorry, this is such a complicated issue! I need some help with this.

1. Must I finish pre-reqs first and then attempt the MCAT?

2. I am good at self-study. So what if I study Physics and 2nd semester Org Chem on my own and attempt the MCAT first? This way I can do the MCAT early on, apply to med school in June 07 and then complete the remaining pre-reqs after that.

3. What MCAT study material do you recommend? Any suggestions on College Physics textbooks ?

4. How much time do you need to prepare for the MCAT? Are 3 - 6 months sufficient?

Please help. Any input will be greatly appreciated.

• Anu

Welcome to the website!

If you are good self-studier you should be fine w/o taking 2nd semester of Physics or Organics! Organic on the MCAT mainly covers 1st semester anyway, and Physics is much simpler on the MCAT that Physics you take in college.