pre-reqs for pre-reqs?

Hello everyone. I’m a non-traditional student that hasn’t taken math or chem. since high school which was about 14 years ago. As a freshman in my 2nd semester at a community college, I’ve already taken elementary algebra 1 1st semester and begining part 2 the fall of this year. I would like to start my science pre-reqs for med. school at a 4yr school, in my sophmore year and hopefully complete them by late junior year. An advisor from one of the two 4yr. colleges i’m applying to informed me that I had to be at a calculus level math before i can even begin to take the chem. and phyics pre-reqs. At the same time, another advisor from the other school i’m appling to told me all i would need to begin the chem. and the physics courses are some 2 week prep courses their school is offering. At this rate i do not know which advisor to listen to. I fear that because i am on such a low level in math that it would take me years to enter a calculus level math and as a result of that, not be able to complete my pre-reqs until my senior year if i am lucky. I’m also worried that if i don’t take the calculus level math that i might do horrible in the chem. and phys. courses. Is this a unique situation? Or has anyone shared a similar experience and is willing to offer some advice? Thank you.

In my experience, Calculus hasn’t been necessary for physics or chemistry. My school offered two different physics tracks, actually - one with calc (for engineers), and one without (for everyone else).

Calc may give you a better understanding of some of the physics concepts and how certain formulae are derived, but unless you’re required to take a Physics-for-Engineers-ali ke, I don’t think it’s necessary.

Chemistry will use a fair bit of algebra, but that’s about it, I think.