Pre-reqs how old is too old and what med schools accept them

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting a thread. I’m glad I found this site for non-traditional students. The stories I have read have been very inspirational to me. I took my pre-med courses about 12 yrs old. I contacted a univ. in Fla. and mentioned this to them. They suggested I re-take them. I did well in these courses. Can anyone please tell me what is the amount of time lapsed that med. schools would accept pre-req. courses? Does it depend on the med school? Do med schools look unfavorvably at students that have taken their pre-reqs along time ago?

• In reply to:
Can anyone please tell me what is the amount of time lapsed that med. schools would accept pre-req. courses? Does it depend on the med school? Do med schools look unfavorvably at students that have taken their pre-reqs along time ago?

Not really. Yes. Maybe.

What you will find is that it varies not only from med school to med school, but situation to situation. Most med schools will state something vague like they recommend/prefer that pre-reqs not be more than x years old (insert 5-10 years for x). They leave it vague for people who really don't need to take the pre-reqs - e.g. someone with an advanced science degree, or who has been working in a scientific field for the past few years, or someone who has a ridiculously high MCAT despite having old pre-reqs.

If you did well in the pre-reqs the first time around, you probably don't need to retake all of them. However, you should retake biology - it has changed significantly in the past 12 years. You should also take some upper level science coursework to prove that you still have the academic chops. You should also sit down with some MCAT prep materials and see if you think you can remember enough/adequately prep on your own.

Hope that helps.