Pre-Reqs in One Year?

I just met with my Advisor and wanted to get the group’s view on the following: I would like to take the MCAT in April 2006, but to do so I would have to take Chemistry I & II this summer and Bio, O-Chem, and Physics all at the same time during Fall & Spring Semester. She told me that this was doable, but would be very difficult for someone with a non-science background (my undergrad was in Economics in 1992).
To give you a little more background on my situation: I’ll be 35 in a few months, my undergrad was at a Top 5 school (GPA just under 3.0), I have a MBA (1996) in Finance and Project/Process management (GPA 3.87), have a 3 1/2 year old daughter, soon to be divorced, and will be going to school full time and maybe working part time.
Is it worth it to try to cram all of the classes into one year, or should I do it in 2? Of course, being a OPM, I would rather do it in one.
Any advice or feedback would be appreciated.

I think Bio, O-Chem and Physics all at the same time could be a challenge…especially since (as you stated) you have a non-science background. That isn’t to say you couldn’t do it and do it well, but doing it well is the key. Perhaps you should look at the texts used in these 3 classes and see what you think of the material (ie how challenging it would be for you). Your age shouldn’t be the ultimate deciding factor.

I would not do this…here is why. You are now going to school after X years and taking hard sciences…this will be an adjustment period and you will be working and have a family. Adcoms will expect nothing but the best from a returning non-trad so do not give them any excuse to not accept you the first time. Summer courses are challenging to those that have been in school for some time so they will more challenging if you have been out of the loop for some time. I would take it slower and focus on doing well, this will also give you more time to get your volunteering and clinical exposure.