Pre-residency advice???

Ooookay, folks. Once April 1st hit, I started to get nervous thinking that I’m supposed to know all this crazy medical stuff before starting residency. I know, I know…most people go through this before July 1st, but since I’m here with nothing much else to do (except trying to figure out how to move, buy a home and manage to still feed myself and my two dogs in the process), I thought I’d start a thread… Any advice for incoming interns? Any recommended books for the old white coat pockets? Any suggestions on good things to brush up on/good books to read before starting? Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks in advance.
Jane

RUN AWAY!

Hah! If only! Another OTHER advice?

Hey Jane,
Now remember that I was a general surgery intern so be kind to me here. I kept the General Surgery Intern Survival Manual in my pocket. It cost about $7 and there is one for Medicine too. These small books contain most of the meat for everything that you will have to learn to do quickly.
I also kept the Mont Reid Handbook in my pocket. There must be something comparable for Family Medicine so check out what’s out there. This book contained most of the surgical procedures that I had to learn to become proficient at: chest tubes, central lines, cut-downs, difficult uretheral catheterizatons (you will be able to consult surgery for this stuff so you probably don’t need to learn this).
Learning to dictate was the thing that took the most time for me to learn. The good thing is that you will do so much dictating that you will become good at this very quickly.
I kept an index card with all of my important numbers and pagers. I kept things like all of the lab sections, the pathology desk and the main radiology numbers. When you really need stuff, it was great to have all of the numbers handy. Maybe your residency will give you these numbers.