Premed with an "unconventional" personality?

Wondering if anyone else is coming from this position?
I suppose it began when my very geeky, atheist father decided to teach me the facts of life. He did so - in gory medical detail (although I didn’t know at this age that sex started it!) complete with anatomic illustrations and photos of developing fetuses. From that age, I was hooked on medicine.
After giving up on being a scientist or doctor (I’d wanted to be one, the other, or both, all my childhood), I spent my teens and twenties honing my creative side… music, art, writing. I went through a goth phase. I got heavily into gaming and science fiction fandom. I worked as a graphic artist.
Having come full-circle, I’m now a re-entry student preparing to transfer as a biology major, and I’m working on my pre-med prerequisites.
Sitting in the local coffee shop though, and working on my homework, I look around and see that most of the premeds and med students (I live near UCSD) are all very starched, conventional type of people.
I superficially look like one of these people now (with a clean-cut conservative image), but I’m still a geek, and my “wild” side comes out on occasion (such as on Halloween).
I mean, I’m 31 and read comic books. I went to science fiction conventions before I stopped having time (I don’t regret the lack of time - I love science and especially medical science more than anything else in the whole world). I listen to “non-mainstream” music and I’m a total art lover.
Being mature just means I hide this side better, and that I spend more time on my studies than on any of my previous interests than I ever did.