preparing for shadowing

I’ve been given a great opportunity to shadow/do research with a local neurology practice. Since this is my first time really shadowing and researching, how should I best prepare for this? I don’t want to start out completely clueless, but since I am only a pre-med I know there is little that I can contribute…

minidee,

Congrats on getting to shadow and see up close & personal the practice of medicine!

I just had a similar opportunity with an ENT Surgeon. I was able to shadow her during her clinicals and then I was able to shadow her during surgery a few days later. I had a few of the same questions you did and here’s what I found out, and maybe my experience wasn’t typical, but here’s how it turned out for me:

Everyone bent over backwards (nurses, techs, doctors) to help show me the ropes and make me feel comfortable. Interestingly enough, just knowing that I was a pre-med student gave me some respect amongst the staff and they really treated me like one of them. I felt very shy, a little intimidated, but after a few hours of clinicals, I felt pretty good. My doc got me an up close view of everything she was doing and I got to assist on a couple of procedures, which was super neato! On surgery day, again, I couldn’t believe how accomidating everyone was that was in the surgical theater, the nurses, the anesthesiologist, the CRNA, the ORTs. Everyone took time out in the procedure to explain what/why they were doing. Seriously, I think just the fact that you are showing enough interest to volunteer your time to come in and shadow the doctor will go a long way to getting you some seriously cool experiences.

My advice for you would be this:

1. Meet with with the doc before clinicals begin to find out when you are allowed to ask questions and have him/her give you a brief overview of how their clinicals work (about how long, typical questions, common cases, etc??)