Prerequisite Timeline - Advice Wanted

Hello all,

I’m a long-time professional musician, have BA, taking pre-nursing classes since this past summer, now considering medical school.

Can you give me some feedback regarding the following premedical plan?

09 SPRING

Chem I

BIO I

(Calculus I)

09 SUM

Chem II

BIO II

09 FALL

Physics I

Organic I

10 SPRING

Physics II

Organic II

MCAT (ASAP after Spring semester)

Thank you in advance…

Hey There,

What about Genetics, physiology, and maybe another course that would help out for the MCAT and med school (like neurobiology or endocrinology)?

I have heard med schools like to see you’ve taken these courses as a full-time student. I don’t know if that’s true, but since that is what I was told I ended up quiting my job and going back to school full-time. Its taken me two years and I just took the MCAT over the summer.

What school are looking at taking your pre-reqs?

David

Toughskins! I think your schedule looks very doable. At some point in my undergrad career I was having a very similar schedule + I worked part time!

DaveS!

All these classes you’re mentioning are absolutelly not required. People who major in sciences usually take them as degree requirements, but I don’t think it gives them any significant advantage over those who never took higher level sciences. There are many people in my class who were non-science majors as undegrad, and after taking only basic prerequisites are doing very well in med school! While Genetics and physiology might be helpful to some degree in MCAT preparation, they are absolutely not required.

Kasia

• daveS Said:
Hey There,

What about Genetics, physiology [...] neurobiology or endocrinology

Hi, David - thanks for your reply. I won't have most of those you mentioned, but I by the end of Fall 08 I will have Anatomy and Physiology I and II and Microbiology done (along with Precalculus Algebra and Trigonometry)

• daveS Said:
What school are looking at taking your pre-reqs?